Harris County – Houston Sports Authority Announces Legacy Winners and Finalists for Houston Sports Awards


J.J. Watt wins Sportsmanship Award again; Fertitta named Executive of the Year


HOUSTON – J.J. Watt can’t help himself. He sees a need, then finds a way to fill it.

A year ago, the Texans all-everything defensive end and 2018 Walter Payton Man of the Year raised $41.6 million for Hurricane Harvey relief in Houston. And this year? He spent much of the last 12 months spreading those funds around the city, then he wrapped his arms around the victims of the Santa Fe shooting, quietly paying for the funerals of the 10 students and teachers who lost their lives on that horrific day in May.

His generosity, compassion and impact on the city earned him his second consecutive Sportsmanship Award, while Houston Rockets owner Tilman Fertitta, whose philanthropy, vision and commitment to the city and all sports, was named Executive of the Year. The Executive of the Year Award is presented by Mercedes-Benz Dealers of Greater Houston.

Fertitta had a magic touch in his first season as the Rockets owner as the team set a record for the most wins in the regular season, going 65-17 and advancing to the Western Conference Finals where they pushed the eventual NBA champion Golden State Warriors to a Game 7. In addition, Fertitta’s $20 million gift to the University of Houston – the single largest individual donation in UH history – helped transform Hofheinz Pavilion, now Fertitta Center, into a modern 7,100-seat arena. As Chairman of the UH System Board of Regents, his vision has modernized all UH sports facilities.

Watt and Fertitta join Lifetime Achievement Award winners, the late President George H.W. and Barbara Bush, as the 2019 Legacy Award winners.

The nominees for six other awards which will be given out on February 6 at the Hilton Americas have also been selected.

Athlete of the Year
Simone Biles
Alex Bregman
James Harden
DeAndre Hopkins

College Athlete of the Year
Rob Gray – University of Houston
D’Eriq King – University of Houston
Ed Oliver – University of Houston
Trayveon Williams – Texas A&M

High School Athlete of the Year presented by Memorial Hermann Health Systems
Kaitlyn Banas – Cy Ranch High School
Kesean Carter – The Woodlands High School
Grant Gunnell – St. Pius X High School
Cate Reese – Cy Woods High School

Coach of the Year
Mike D’Antoni – Houston Rockets
A.J. Hinch – Houston Astros
Bill O’Brien – Houston Texans
Kelvin Sampson – University of Houston basketball

Event of the Year
Opening of Fertitta Center
Houston Texans Monday Night Football win over Tennessee/McNair Celebration
NBA Western Conference Finals
Rodeo Houston


Moment of the Year

Simone Biles winning World Championship
DeAndre Hopkins Spin Catch against Dallas to set up winning field goal
Houston Dynamo Winning Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup
Santa Fe High School first football game


The second annual Houston Sports Awards will celebrate a Lifetime of Houston Sports – one decade at a time – and the night will honor Jack Burke, Jr., A.J. Foyt, George Foreman and Dan Pastorini as its second Hall of Fame Class. They represent four of the eight decades with the 40th anniversary of Pastorini and the Luv Ya Blue Oilers, the 50th anniversary of Foreman winning gold at the 1968 Summer Olympics, the 60th anniversary of Foyt’s Indianapolis 500 debut and the 70th anniversary of Burke’s first professional win.

The finalists are also listed on www.houstonsportsawards.com/categories.

The Legacy winners are chosen by the Sports Awards Executive Committee with input from the Selection Committee. The committees are comprised of sportswriters and electronic sports media members who live and work in the Greater Houston area.